The president is charged with providing general supervision over all affairs of the University. UArts President David Yager began his tenure on January 15, 2016.

The president is elected by the Board of Trustees and once elected, sits as an ex officio member of the board. The Board of Trustees is responsible for the overall direction of the University. Among the primary powers of the trustees is the authority to appoint a president, and to approve the operating and capital budgets. The board delegates broad authority to the president to operate the University.

The University of the Arts is also served by a provost, the president's first deputy officer, who assumes presidential responsibilities when the president is absent. Under the president, the provost oversees all academic programs.

Several vice presidents, who report directly to the president, are responsible for day-to-day administration of a wide range of University units. Reporting to the provost are academic deans, directors and the associate provosts, who are responsible for a variety of academic units and services.