Four UArts Theater Artists Win at the 2019 Barrymore Awards

October 17, 2019

Of almost two dozen nominees from UArts alone, four UArts theater professionals took home Barrymore Awards at the annual ceremony at the Bok Building. It was announced during the celebration on Monday evening, Oct. 14, that the following Brind School alumni, faculty and staff were given the highest honor for their work.

LeVonne Lindsay (Photo by Mark Garvin)
  • Outstanding Leading Performance in a Play
    • Brandi Burgess BFA ’12 (Acting) for Cry it Out at Simpatico Theatre
    • Justin Jain BFA ’04 (Acting), and senior lecturer, for The Great Leap at InterAct Theatre Company
  • Outstanding Supporting Performance in a Musical
    • Brett Ashley Robinson, Pig Iron graduate and senior lecturer, for The Appointment at Lightning Rod Special
  • Outstanding Costume Design
    • LeVonne Lindsay, adjunct assistant professor and costume shop manager, for Gem of the Ocean at Arden Theatre Company
  • Outstanding Musical Direction
    • Amanda Morton, senior lecturer, for The Color Purple at Theatre Horizon
Brett Ashley Robinson (Photo by Mark Garvin)

The Ira Brind School of Theater Arts includes 60 instructors, the majority of which are employed as theater professionals. Alumni often return to UArts as educators and hold central roles in Philadelphia’s theater culture. 

“Brind School faculty and alumni always feature heavily, but this year is an exceptional crop,” David Howey, dean of the Brind School, says. “We are present in depth and breadth, through actors, singers, directors, writers, composers, musical directors and designers.”

Brandi Burgess & Justin Jain (Photo by Mark Garvin)

The Barrymore Awards, established in 1994, are a nationally recognized symbol of excellence for professional theater in the greater Philadelphia region and are given annually by Theatre Philadelphia. This year’s winners each received a newly designed trophy—a 9-inch-high rectangular sculpture designed by Philadelphia artist Sharif Pendleton.

See the full list of award winners.