Illustration Student Named 2016 Zankel Scholar by Society of Illustrators

June 8, 2016

Lizzy O’Donnell ’17 (Illustration) wins $10,000 scholarship as best junior-level illustrator in the country




University of the Arts student Lizzy O’Donnell ’17 (Illustration) has been named the 2016 Zankel Scholar by the Society of Illustrators. Given to the best junior-level illustrator in the country, this prestigious award includes a $10,000 grant to help support her senior year at UArts.

O’Donnell, who was hand picked by the Illustration program for the competition, was chosen as the winner based on her portfolio of work, writing and a personal interview.

Now in its 10th year, the Zankel Scholar program was named in memory of Arthur Zankel, a strong advocate for higher education whose generous bequest made the scholarship possible. This year's judges included Alexandra Zsigmond, art director for The New York Times; illustrators Diane Dillon, Aya Kakeda and Sean Qualls; and Chad Beckerman, art director for Abrams Books.

The Society of Illustrators' mission is to promote the art of illustration, to appreciate its history and evolving nature through exhibitions, lectures and education, and to contribute the service of its members to the welfare of the community at large.