All graduate programs require a portfolio submission, interview, performance audition, or a combination.

From monologues to writing samples, interviews to auditions, our admissions process takes your creative talent and aptitude into careful consideration. An interview, either in person, by telephone or Skype, is required with the director of the program to which you are applying. The application and all supporting documents must be submitted to the Office of Admissions prior to the interview.

Graduate Admissions Requirements

Choose your area of study to see which programs have specific portfolio and audition requirements.

  • Visual Arts
  • Museum Studies
  • Music
  • Theater & Devised Performance
  • Industrial Design

Requirements for the following programs include submission of a portfolio of your original work and an in-person interview.

MFA Low Residence Program in Studio Art
Cynthia Nourse Thompson
cythompson@uarts.edu
215-717-6106

MFA in Book Arts + Printmaking
Cynthia Nourse Thompson
cythompson@uarts.edu
215-717-6106

Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT) in Visual Arts
Rande Blank
rblank@uarts.edu
215-717-6050

Post-Baccalaureate Certificate in Crafts
Rod McCormick
rmccormick@uarts.edu
215-717-6100

Visual Arts Portfolio Requirements

Requirements for the following programs include submission of a portfolio of your original work and an in-person interview.

MFA in Museum Exhibition Planning + Design
Polly McKenna-Cress
pmckennacress@uarts.edu
215-717-6328/6489

MA in Museum Education
Karen Pollard
kpollard@uarts.edu
215-717-6640

MA in Museum Communication
Joseph Gonzales
jgonzales@uarts.edu
215-717-6640

Museum Studies Portfolio Requirements

Requirements for the following programs include in-person performance auditions and an interview.

MM in Music Education
Elizabeth Sokolowski
esokolowski@uarts.edu
215-717-6354

Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT) in Music Education
Elizabeth Sokolowski
esokolowski@uarts.edu
215-717-6354

MM in Jazz Studies
Don Glanden
wglanden@uarts.edu
215-717-6353
Interview will take place at the audition

Portfolio & Audition Requirements

Requirements for the program include an in-person auditions and submission of your work on an artistic project.

MFA in Devised Performance
Certificate in Devised Performance

Quinn Bauriedel
admissions@pigiron.org

Portfolio & Audition Requirements

Requirements for this program include an in-person interview along with submission of your resume and portfolio of related work.

MDes in Design for Social Impact
Anthony Guido
aguido@uarts.edu
215-717-6251

MDes in Product Design
Karen Pollard
kpollard@uarts.edu
215-717-6259

Portfolio Requirements