White background with people in a crowd, there is a moon and sun both with faces on them. The title reads "Dir. Erlina Ortiz, Felipillo, By Tyler Ecoña".


White background with people in a crowd, with one person sitting above the rest. People near the front are looking up at them. There is a moon and sun both with faces on them. The title reads "Dir. Erlina Ortiz, Felipillo, By Tyler Ecoña".
Image by Tyler Ecoña  


by Tyler Rocio Ecoña

Directed by Erlina Ortiz      


Tickets Available Now. 


Tyler Rocio Ecoña (Playwright)(DPP '23)(they/them) is a writer, artist, and Peruvian-American runa. Their work has been produced at the Kennedy Center’s Playwright Discovery Competition and Austin ISD Center for Performing Arts. Their poetry and drama has been a recipient of the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards’ Silver Medal and Gold Keys, as well as published in Scholastic's Best Teen Writing, Queerbook anthology, Polyphony Lit magazine, Ann Arbor District Library and more. Ecoña is a member of The Dramatists Guild, Latinx Playwrights' Circle, and Latinx in Animation. They have most recently worked as a Dramaturg, Script Supervisor, and DEI consultant for shows at UArts.

Erlina Ortiz (Director)

Fletcher Rabin (Stage Manager)

Gideon McDonald (Fight Choreographer)

Gen McLaughlin (Costume Designer)(Theatrical Design & Technology '23)(they/them/theirs) is a Senior Design/Tech major with a focus in costumes and fiber arts. Past UArts costume design credits include Head Over Heels (co-designer), Crimson Lit, and We’re Gonna Die. Endless love for the amazing playwright, director, production team, and cast.

Solomon Troupe (Lighting Designer)

Ethan Paone (Sound Designer)

Jack Thornley (Videographer)

Olivia Swayze (Artistic Assistant)

Maggie-Kate Coleman (DPP Mentor)



Gideon McDonald (Atawalpa/King Philip)(Musical Theater '25)(he/him) Past UArts credits include Visiones Del Cuerpo (2022), and The Untitled Cherry Orchard Musical (2023 Polyphone).

Roberto Delgado (Felipillo)

Gwendolyn Felton (Pizarro)

Luke Perkins (Friar Vincente)(Musical Theater '25)(he/they) | is excited to be apart of the cast of Felipillo! You may recognize Luke from earlier this semester in this year’s Polyphone show The Sweet Hereafter (Wendell Walker/Abbott Driscoll). Luke is super thankful for the entire cast and crew and thanks them for a great way to round out the end of the semester!

Fern Morehouse (Garcilaso)

Jordan Neff (Gómara)

Isabel Penn (De Chaves)(Musical Theater '24)(he/they) is a Junior Musical Theater Major. They'd like to thank family and friends for their endless support and love!

Alexis Castro (Martinillo)(Musical Theater '26)(he/him) is a first year Musical Theater major! Past UArts credits include The Untitled Cherry Orchard and the First Year Showcase. Endless thanks to Tyler Ecoña and Erlina Ortiz for making this an incredible experience.

Madison Luckey (Sancta/Wiñaya)(Musical Theater '25)(she/her) is a Sophomore Musical Theater major. Past UArts credits include (Neferure) Fit For A Queen, (u/s Ensemble) Head Over Heels, and (Depression) Dear Mr.C.

Gabriela Santana (Wamán)(Musical Theater)(she/they) Past UArts shows include Dear Mr. C, and The Sweet Hereafter. Past shows include Legally Blonde, Newsies, and Tuck Everlasting.


This show features a red handprint, which is the symbol of Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women. MMIW is a grassroots movement to raise awareness and address the lack of response when Native women go missing or murdered. May 1st-7th is National Week of Action for MMIW. As of 2019, 84% of Native women have experienced violence in their lifetime. Additionally, 96% of sexual violence against Native women happens at the hands of a non-Native perpetrator.

This legacy of violence dates back to Spanish and Anglo-European invasion of Native lands.

To learn more, search “MMIW” on the Internet or visit: 



University of the Arts

David Yager, President and CEO

Kikau Alvaro, Interim Dean, Ira Brind School of Theater Arts

Aanika Allen, Assistant Dean, Ira Brind School of Theater Arts

Madison Claus, Senior Administrative Assistant

Krista Apple, Interim Program Director, Acting

Fadi Skeiker, Interim Program Director, Directing, Playwriting and Production

Thom Weaver, Interim Program Director, Theater Design & Technology

Jacob Brent, Interim Program Director, Musical Theater

Quinn Bauriedel, Program Director, Pig Iron School MFA in Devised Performance


Nick Embree, Associate Professor 

Sarah Sanford, Assistant Professor 

Amy Dugas Brown, Assistant Professor

Rob Tucker, Visiting Assistant Professor

Leah Walton, Visiting Assistant Professor 


Lindsay Cram, Associate Producer

Joe Fasciano, Technical Director

Troy Martin-O’Shia, Production Electrician 

Larry Fowler, Sound Practicum Instructor

Chris Haig, Technical Practicum Instructor

Rebecca Kanach, Costume Practicum Instructor

Angela Jenkins, SM Mentor