Student Leadership Opportunities

Being a Student Leader, whether a Community Advisor (CA), Orientation Leader (OL) or Resident Assistant (RA) can be one of the most enriching and rewarding experiences of your college career. The role of a Student Leader can be very challenging, demanding and it can cause stress. So, we encourage you to familiarize yourself with the responsibilities and expectations of being a Student Leader before applying. Keep in mind that there are big differences between all positions (CA, OL and RA), most notably that CAs work with high school age students during the Summer Pre-College Program, OLs work with new incoming UArts students, and RAs work with students living in our residence halls throughout the entire school year.

For more information, check out our Student Leader Resource Guide.

IMPORTANT DATES
Monday, November 3, 2014
Applications available in the Office of Student Life, Gershman Hall, Suite 309.

Optional Information Sessions:
 Try to attend at least one Information Session to learn about each of the positions and to hear from current or former student leaders. Gershman Hall, Room 408

  • November 12, 2014 @ 8pm
  • December 1, 2014 @ 8pm

Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Completed applications are due to the Office of Student Life. Late or incomplete applications will not be accepted.

Saturday, February 7, 2015
Group Interview Process. More information will be sent via email.

Tuesday, February 10 – Friday, February 20, 2015
Invited candidates will participate in the Individual Interview Process. More information will be sent via email.

Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Hiring decisions will be sent via email.

Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Acceptances due by 5 PM

Saturday, March 21, 2015
If you are hired for OL, CA or RA and accept the position, Mandatory Spring Training will be held on this date.

Summer Training Dates

CA Training: Monday, July 6, 2015 – Saturday, July 11 2015
If you are hired and accept the position, Mandatory CA Training will be held during these dates.

OL Training & Orientation: Wednesday, August 19 – Sunday, August 30, 2015
If you are hired and accept the position, Mandatory OL Training will be held during these dates.

RA Training: Friday, August 15, 2015 – Sunday, August 30, 2015
If you are hired and accept the position, Mandatory RA Training will be held during these dates.