School of Film Grads, Faculty Are Film Fest Winners

Alumni and Animation professor take home top honors at Bucks Fever FilmFest, Ottawa Int'l Animation Festival

Updated October 15, 2012

Work by alumni and faculty in the School of Film topped the winners' lists at two film festivals, one local and one international.

Three 2012 Animation graduates dominated the College Animation category at the Bucks Fever FilmFest, a juried festival of short films submitted by high school, college and emerging filmmakers.

Su Yeon Lim BFA '12 (Animation) was the top winner for her senior thesis work "Earth Emergency" (above). Honorable Mentions in the category went to Maria DelBuono BFA '12 (Animation) for "The Adventures of Pencil Man" and Anamaria Solis BFA '12 (Animation) for "Dandelion Flight."

Two wins went to Reid Carrescia BFA '12 (Film/Video), whose short "Harvest" (below) won both the Best College Narrative and Best of the Fest awards. Carrescia's senior thesis work was also named Best Student Film at the NYLA International Film Festival.

"From Point A to Point Z" by Associate Professor/Animation Coordinator Karl Staven was named the winner in the Bucks Fever FilmFest's Emerging Animation category. The short features Dan Alfaro BFA '10 (Animation), Jason Chen BFA '08 (Animation), Ian Foster BFA '08 (Animation), Marina Gvozdeva BFA '08 (Animation) and Christine Koebernik BFA '11 (Animation) in front of and behind the camera.

The winning films were screened October 14 at the County Theater in Doylestown, Pa., and aired on Comcast On Demand throughout the Philadelphia area.

1997 Animation alumnus Rob Shaw took home the prize for Best Television Animation for Adults at this year's Ottawa International Animation Festival (OIAF), held September 19 – 23 in Canada. His winning work, "Zero Rats" (below), aired on the Peabody Award-winning comedy series "Portlandia." Fellow graduate Jen Prokopowicz BFA '07 (Animation) served as lead animator on the piece.

Shaw’s "Koodo Skydive" commercial was also screened as part of the festival's Short Competition 2.

Other participants at OIAF included Ian Miller '11 (Animation), Morgan Miller BFA '00 (Film) and Professor Staven, whose Bucks Fever FilmFest-winning animation "From Point A to Point Z" was screened.

In addition, for the second year in a row, Animation students won the festival's annual pumpkin carving contest. Shannon Conner '14, Eun Ock Kim '14, Min Li '14, Karima O'Neill '14, Kendall Parsons '13 and Annelise Williams '14 carved birds around a cage for their winning submission.

View All News